Gajar ka halwa or carrot pudding has been one of the most favorite sweet dish of me and my parents; my father is a big fan of it. In India especially during the months of November, December, January we get those good red big size carrots which make best gajar halwas.
Ever since out of for studying eating the authentic halwa had become occasional yearly affair, that is only when I am at my mom’s place. This year as my mom said,she already made it almost 5-6 times 😀

gajarhalwaSince I remember, on the new year eve especially, gajar ka halwa used to be made without fail and we would eat it at around 12 in night…steaming hot gajar halwa while being comfortably warm under blankets in chilly winters of North India.As I say this I am actually visualizing those days…truly nostalgic!

After our wedding, since I have a fully functional kitchen and moreover since I miss those childhood days and traditions…this year I wanted to relive and enjoy halwa on the new year eve…Set out on my endeavor to make gajar halwa…got the recipe from my Mom and in almost 1 hour which includes preparation time,I was able to make it and guess what it turned out to be delicious 🙂 😛 and was certified by none other than my husband and friends!

So here is my gajar ka halwa recepie:

Ingredients:

• Carrots 8-10 medium

• Cashewnuts 5-6

• Almonds 5-6

• Raisins 10-15

• Pure ghee 3 tablespoons

• Milk 2 cups

• Green cardamom powder 1/4 teaspoon

• Milk maid condensed milk can or Mawa (khoya) 1 cup (I used milk maid condensed milk)

• Sugar 3/4 cup

Preparation:
Peel, wash and grate carrots.
Chop cashewnuts.
Blanch almonds in half a cup of hot water for five minutes.
Drain, cool, peel and slice them. Wash raisins and pat them dry.

Cooking:
In a thick-bottomed pan,heat ghee add grated carrots and sauté for five minutes.
Then add milk, green cardamom powder and cook on medium heat for five to six minutes or till the milk evaporates and the carrots are cooked.
Stir in the condensed milk or grated khoya and sugar and cook for two to three minutes or till the sugar melts and mixes well, stirring continuously.
Continue to cook for two minutes more.
Garnish with chopped cashewnuts, sliced almonds and raisins.
Serve hot or at room temperature.

We can store halwa in fridge for a week and reaheat before serving!

